September 2015 – September 2016

See Exhibitions

Thu Sep 03, 6:30 pm8:00 pm

Asian Art 101: Japan

Beginning with the samurai armor featured in Fierce Loyalty: A Samurai Complete, Midori Oka will present how the arts of Japa [...]

Thu Oct 08, 6:30 pm8:00 pm

Asian Art 101: Buddhism and Art

What does it mean to be enlightened? Join us for a talk that will take you to the world of the Buddha through the inspiring [ [...]

Thu Nov 05, 6:30 pm8:00 pm

Asian Art 101: India

Dr. Lisa Owen will highlight select sculptures from the Crow Collection in order to explore the dynamic intersections between [...]

Thu Dec 03, 6:30 pm8:00 pm

Asian Art 101: Hinduism and Art

Hinduism is a religious tradition that embraces the richness of artistic expression while highlighting goals that transcend, [...]

Thu Jan 14, 6:30 pm8:00 pm

Asian Art 101: The Himalayas

The Himalayas is not just a mountain range that is home to Mount Everest. It is also a region that has witnessed the richest [...]

Thu Feb 11, 6:30 pm8:00 pm

Asian Art 101: Contemporary

Date has been changed to February 11, 2016 as of November 23, 2015. Justine Ludwig will discuss contemporary art throughout A [...]

Thu Mar 03, 6:30 pm8:00 pm

Asian Art 101: China

Jennifer Casler Price will focus on the arts of China, with a primary emphasis on the fundamental and enduring traditions of [...]

Thu May 05, 6:30 pm8:00 pm

Asian Art 101: Southeast Asia

Southeast Asian art has a unique aesthetic that blends indigenous motifs with artistic styles and subject matter introduced b [...]

Thu Jun 02, 6:30 pm8:00 pm

Asian Art 101: Landscape in Chinese Painting: Gateway to Landscape Art in East Asia

This lecture addresses the nature of landscape art as a cultural projection, with a focus on Chinese landscape painting.  It [...]

Thu Jul 07, 6:30 pm8:00 pm

Asian Art 101: Porcelain Stories

Reflecting the strength of the Crow Collection’s Korean works of art, this lecture will provide a historical and cultural c [...]

Thu Aug 04, 6:30 pm8:00 pm

Asian Art 101: Confucianism, Daoism, and Art

Confucianism is often thought of as promoting a rigid and formal understanding of the relationship of human beings to one ano [...]

Thu Sep 01, 6:30 pm8:00 pm

Asian Art 101: Islam and Art

“What is Islamic art?” Despite this inherently sacred name, Islamic art includes secular masterpieces. As such, Islamic a [...]